Quick ! Grab the family silver !

It’s really all we’ve got.

and they needed polishing,

just to get them in this shot.

The little cup is mine with my name upon the side.

The thimble,

it is special

with my grandmother

it did abide.

The story goes that she hurt her finger with

a thimble all worn out.

My grandfather bought this one of sterling silver

which they could not afford,

I wouldn’t doubt.

Both are special to me.

They wouldn’t bring a dime.

But if the house is on fire

I’ll keep them for all time.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/quick-grab-the-family/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

