Why does it call to me?

Water.

I did not grow up with it near.

It speaks loudly.

Softly.

Drawing me here.


To be on the edge,

Is more

Than I can comprehend.

The waves call out loudly

Over and over again.

Come closer.

Come closer.

They seem to want to say.

I now Know

to keep moving

So They

Cannot

Pull me away.

 

San Diego, CA

September 2009

 


Published in: on July 14, 2010 at 9:05 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/why-does-it-call-to-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. San Diego will addict you to the water….it is heaven…and it ocean forevers stays in your heart….nice tribute to her…bkm

  2. Oh I can sure relate to this in my younger days! Delightfully written!

  3. lovely,
    I hear the call and
    Glad to be near,
    love the water images.

    • thank you. we had a really good time there. i want to go back, although i’m happy with what i have here.

  4. You have definitely captured the draw of the water!

  5. Oh yes, the sound of the sea…….the sunsets, the surf, the surfboards – San Diego is beautiful. You captured it well.

  6. love the ocean images,
    your words match them perfectly,
    lovely treats for poetry potluck..
    thanks for sharing!
    Happy monday!

  7. Well done and thoughtful poem…the photos are great! Thanks for posting with Potluck 🙂

  8. This is exactly how I feel when I’m on a beach….beautifully portrayed…love the pictures too 🙂

  9. Beautiful ecstatic imagery My Dear.. Thanks a bunch for sharing this one.. 😀

    http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/water-and-wind-and-an-un-grained-me/

  10. having lived at the ocean for years…it calls but the mountians speak louder…

    • being a former kid of the Plains and now surrounded by mountains, they make me claustrophobic sometimes.


Leave a Reply

