I missed my Dad’s birthday…again…

He said, “I am tired of riding the bus to work with women and old men.  I’m joining”

She said, “You can’t”

He did.

But it was before my time and I never heard much about it.

And then we gathered around, like families always do.

And stories came out, that were before my time.

And you figure when you live with someone

For a long, long time–well, you figure you know them.

And you do.

but so do many, many others.

And since he Went, he lived over There how he had always lived over Here.

And it was after the Battle of the Bulge when his company overtook a German village.

He talked the Captain into putting the men under House Arrest, instead of sending them away.

Since he was older than the typical Private and drove him around, the Captain listened.

He  “liberated” rations from the mess tent each night to make sure the families had food.

He made sure the families were able to stay together as the War ended.

Long after he left that village, my mom sewed American money into clothing and mailed it to the families there.

But, that was before my time.  And when members of our families visited that village,

They were told, “you are to be treated like a King.” because of dad.

So, children live here and children live there because of dad.

I really don’t have any “things” of my dad’s.  He wasn’t much into stuff.

So, if the house catches fire, I just have to take his legacy with me.

I can live with that !

 

 

Published in: on July 22, 2010 at 7:54 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2010/07/22/i-missed-my-dads-birthday-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. a touching tribute to your dad.. a great man 🙂
    i enjoyed the photos and the words 🙂

  2. a fantastic tribute…thank u for sharing:)

  3. Beautiful tribute to your dad. My dad was captured in the Battle of the Bulge and marched miles to a train cars where he and the others were ‘shipped’ to German prison camps. General Patton’s troups freed him.
    Great man, my father–just as yours was.

    I do have a huge scrapbook of the war and his POW times–mother kept it all. I made a special ‘acid free’ one and presented it to him for his 80th birthday. It now rests on the shelf above my computer as he’s been gone 4 years.

    • Mine has been gone for 14 years. Only my oldest child ever got to know him and I think that has been a real loss in their lives, although they can’t know that now.

  4. i have shivers. what an inspiration, your father. what a Christ-loving-soldier. and what beautiful photos of you, with him. thank you so much for making rememberance day hit home for me. xo

  5. Such a nice tribute to your dad. My dad was in WWII and is still living, but he rarely will talk about it. Thank you for sharing.

    It’s my first time visiting you and joining Imperfect Prose.

    • My father never really spoke of it either. He was close to my cousin, who is 18 years older than I and is a historian. My cousin now has a WWII museum that’s larger than my house and his current book (he has authored several) is on the chaplains who served on the battlefields of WWII.

  6. A lovely tribute to your Dad and to the soldiers every generation honors. My Dad fought the same war as yours and for him too, the war involved people and families – the innocent victims, the remembered kindnesses. One story I’ll never forget: The teapot sitting in the rubble, still attached to the hand of the woman who offered him a cup just before the bomb fell. He brought the pot home, gave it to my mother saying that it was full of the woman’s heart and we always remembered her kindness to our Dad.

  7. The legacy of a great dad is priceless.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

