It’s like first grade all over again, and you’re the shiny new toy. –twilight

  Six invitations to the Junior Prom.

Count ’em.

Six.  and I needed a new dress.

No dress, says the mom.

You have a dress, says the mom.

And she wouldn’t budge.

I got a new dress for the next Christmas Dance

And one for the next Prom, too.

But I didn’t get that other dress,

so of course,

what was a girl to do?

We had just moved and I knew it was my only chance,

to have six invites to a prom

or any other dance.

I thought we might not have the money,

and it took me until now to figure out

that

she didn’t want me to be the

Shiny New Toy

which,

being the New Girl,

I was.

No Doubt.

 ***

Published in: on July 28, 2010 at 10:14 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/its-like-first-grade-all-over-again-and-youre-the-shiny-new-toy-twilight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great story! Love the pictures, thanks for sharing:)

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. What a great story and I’m sure a wonderful memory also.
    Love the photos that you placed with it.Hope you have a great day.

  3. ‘get wisdom, get understanding’…
    beautifully captured stories ~ thx for sharing 🙂

  4. I love the pictures. Reminds me of my proms, nothing compared to now!!! I teach high school and it amazes me to what lengths the kids go for a few hours! Thanks for the memories!

    • I graduated in ’74. A bit too young for the hippie movement, but for the most part we kept it simple. I think I gussied up more when I chaperoned a prom where I was teaching high school.

  5. wow! quite the observation, something i have never thought about…i’m gleaning wisdom here, and i shall tuck it away to use with my children in the years to come. so glad i stopped by, this is a great contribution to ‘storytelling’.

  6. Great photos, telling a lovely story.

    • thanks, it really did take me almost 40 years to figure out why she wouldn’t buy me that new dress.

  7. Nicely done!

  8. Very wise. And the pictures are fabulous.

  9. Great story. Mom knows best! Love the pictures, too.

  10. Mom knew best. Great story and pictures.

  11. awesome.

    we can always count on mom.


Leave a Reply

