The Law of Unintended Consequences

I did not know he was hitting the students.

the Anchorage School District did not want us to know.

A brave mother stood up beside me, opened my ears

And told me it was so.

 

He hit them on the head

then he grabbed them by the neck

And when that didn’t create enough fear

He’d give them a hard squeeze and a shake.

 

The Superintendent told me,

“You are not a mother, you are a teacher.”

and no matter how I tried or what I said,

there was just no way to begin to reach her.

 

The law of the Great Land said that I could

It said I had the right to take action to stand where I stood.

It said, I could do all and the same,

only, I didn’t know

the Law of Unintended Consequences was the name of Her game.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/the-law-of-unintended-consequences/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, such depth, such awakening of issues. Well done.

  2. INTRIGUING AND APPEALING. NEATLY SAID AND DONE. NICE

  3. A strong issue you tackled here. I guess it;s the same everywhere, people closing ranks to avoid trouble. A very effective poem!

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/dark-teen/

  4. beautiful job.
    🙂
    A+

  5. I like how you grabbed me right from the start to finish. Thank you for sharing. xo

  6. great write as usual.. here’s my potluck for this week: http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/08/04/here-for-you/

  7. ouch! sad! heartwrenching.
    Happy potluck!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/

  8. appealing and intruiging indeed

  9. Excellent poem.

  10. welcome join us tonight at Jingle Poetry Potluck, have fun!
    Thanks for the inspirations and dedications..link in your entries now..

    Happy Writing!

    😉


Leave a Reply

