I had set it aside,

Really, I had.

Time to move on and spread a new ripple.

Sunlight replaced with shade trees,

Cedar siding for blue aluminum.

Mountain views exchanged for a room of my own,

tucked up under the eaves, and walking out of a tree house.

Swimming upstream, forming new bonds.

Always being knocked off-center with

Demands that couldn’t be met.

I’m sick I say… I think I say

Since I could no longer think.

Lamaze breathing on the drive to work,

worse than any labor because it would not end.

and…I just stop.  Stop.  One.  Day.

I can no longer put one foot in front of the other.

I can no longer speak.

Months go by and I can begin to look again…

but what do I see?

What do I feel?

Will I learn new ways to be what I was?

The damage is done

Yet continues because the force has not been enough

to change the inertia.

The force where other children are hurt

Other families are injured.

and each classroom is an island.

And each island is either a safe island

Or

an unsafe island.

And if you are on an unsafe island, you will not be allowed to

Leave.

 

art is Crank Whimsy

Rogers Park Elementary

Anchorage, Alaska

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/i-had-set-it-aside/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. touching. Glad that you’re moving on 🙂

  2. good one and lovely pictures.. mines here~ http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/06/18/natures-gravity/

  3. at first I was ;Huh? than I became; oooo, last it was; Aweeee

    🙂

  4. awesome images..

    thanks for sharing…

    🙂

    A++

  5. Great matching the visual artwork with the imagery in your very visual poem. Your mind’s eye paints a haunting picture. Beautiful
    Iris

  6. Interesting input.Well written !


Leave a Reply

