When I was three

my mother once spanked me!

I turned around,

and said with a frown,

“wadya do that for?”

I may have been short.

I may have been loud.

…but for whatever reason…

I stood stiffly

and proud.

She said she figured

out pretty quick.

a pat on the rump

wasn’t going to do the trick.

I don’t think she even noticed

how it should come to be

that this very apple

didn’t fall far from her tree.

Published in: on May 14, 2011 at 8:55 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/when-i-was-three/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There is something in that. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you

  2. I love the old photos beautiful. I don’t believe in spanking children. I was spanked though as a kid and I was just as stubborn! You really touched on a very important issue here

  3. Lovely, walk down memory lane that took you back and bought you back again and with photographs too. Very, very nice.

  4. leaves will fly back to the tree after the cycle is over.

    very stunning photo shots.
    love the wisdom and sweetness in it.
    😉

  5. Beautiful poem combined with images. A lesson from the past.

  6. Awwwwwww…This is very cute! Memories, nostalgia, you have covered it all so beautifully! Lovely piece of work 🙂


Leave a Reply

