Dear Jack, Kim and Keelin,

Some day I will be gone and there are a few things which I hope you remember.

Today the police came and said that if I emailed the Anchorage School District again, I would be arrested.  The officers were nice, but they didn’t want any information.  And that’s a shame, because I must continue to speak.  I must.

When Kim was crying and twitching and tapping and a total emotional mess, I still had faith in a system for whom I worked.  I had a faith, which was destroyed by Carol Comeau, the very top leader of the Anchorage School District.  When she sat across from you Dad and myself and said she got my letter about the kids being hit and chose to ignore it–well, as a mom, I knew I could never protect you in school.

No mom should ever feel that way.  I tried to protect you and I failed.  I’m sorry.  I didn’t do a good job as a mother.

We met some really nice people at Rogers Park after we moved from Bayshore to get away from a teacher who hit children and a principal who knew it was happening and hid the mistreatment.  But again, a teacher at Rogers Park was negligent and  children were hurt.  Again, the Anchorage School District covered up an incompetent teacher so that parents wouldn’t know.  I am grateful that Keelin had a different teacher for kindergarten.

But Kim didn’t tell me that her 4th grade teacher was scaring and intimidating the kids.  I ‘m sure I would have just blown apart to known, once again, I couldn’t protect my kids.  Talking with several other parents, I now know that their concerns were taken all the way to the Superintendent’s office and Carol Comeau did not respond.

I am so sorry to ever allowed you to be with people who are mean to children.  This information has been hidden from us, and now I do try to pull you out of any classroom where the teacher’s behavior is a concern.  And there are many of them.

I don’t understand why someone would take food away from children, but that’s what the cafeteria manager did at Wendler.  I’m sorry you couldn’t get lunch that day, Kim.

I’m sorry Kim, that you had to sit in a room with a teacher would punish an entire class for a couple of children misbehaving, but that’s what your Math teacher at Wendler did.

I don’t understand why people would steal money from a PTA or Pennies for Patients, but that’s what I believe staff at Wendler did.

I’m sorry, both Jack and Kim, that you sat through classes with the Wendler PE teachers and they only graded you on how many laps you ran, while they sat around.  I didn’t know then, but after talking with you both, as well as other parents, I know the PE teachers have bullied kids at Wendler for years.

I am sorry Jack that the Student Government at East plans the prom and pep assemblies instead of giving kids a real opportunity to participate in students governing themselves and speaking out for issues that are important to the students.

I’m sorry Jack that you have had to sit with a Social Studies teacher who only put in videos of college lectures and a Math teacher who played the “teacher pet” game and didn’t assist other kids.

I’m sorry Kim that you ended up with a Cosmetology  teacher at King Career Center  that had so little to offer you, that you read library books during class in order to keep yourself occupied.  Or that she told you it was OK to sleep during class as long as you did it on the massage table so no one would know.  I know how much you were looking forward to this class and what a disappointment it has been.

I’m sorry Jack that you have written the Anchorage School Board members for the past six months and they will not respond to you.  Please know that their behavior is a reflection on them–not you.

The Anchorage Police Department says that if I speak out by email again, I will be arrested on criminal charges.  I must speak out.  An email to ASD is not important to me, but I must speak out that children continue to be hurt.  That teachers within ASD have mistreated kids and Carol Comeau knows, but will not use her power to make things better.

I want you all to know you may walk away from any classroom, any teacher, any administrator and come home.  I want you to always maintain your own power.  No one in the Anchorage School District has the power to mistreat you, even if they try.  You always have the power to walk out of any situation and I will be right there to get you.

I will continue to speak out–how I do it doesn’t really matter.   Someone has to be loudest.  I didn’t really want the job, but at this point I volunteered, so I’ll finish for however long it takes.  The cover-ups of abuse within the Anchorage School District is not acceptable.  I beleve Carol Comeau will continue to try and make me be quiet.  I want you to know that each and every one of you is too precious for me to ever be quiet.

Love, Mom

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/dear-jack-kim-and-keelin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

