My mother was a lousy cook

no recipes to be found

that came in a book.

The back of the cans,

the boxes and lids,

created our cookbook

to delight every kid.

No food which didn’t come out of a can

every graced our table or left her hand.

Ice cream was a staple,

and dairy for the troops.

McDonalds, Burger King and KFC

created dinner within the top food groups.

But when she cooked,

which I don’t really remember,

it must have been for a bake sale booth,

because I know I definitely inherited

her unstoppable, never-ending,

sweet tooth.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/my-mother-was/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can relate to this! I’ve written several stories about Mom’s cooking. She wasn’t very good at it when we were kids.

    Here’s my offering for this first Funny Bunny Friday: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/a-fly-in-my-soup-2/

  2. fun indeed.

  3. amazing word flow, thanks for sharing.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

