Dear Kim,

When I went to school, we did not have Title IX.   I was so glad to think you would get some different opportunities to develop a healthy mind and body.

Imagine my surprise to find out there are no PE standards or curriculum for middle school in the Anchorage School District.  When your dad and I met with Ms Bingham, she told us they did not grade you on how many laps you ran.  She sat there and lied to us.  I have spoken with other parents who have complained about the children being graded on running laps, yet nothing ever happened to change the situation.

When Ms Bingham lied, it was a reflection on her character.  Not yours.  What she was really doing was telling me I shouldn’t believe my child.  Children should not be in a classroom with a teacher lies, so I pulled you from PE at Wendler.

What a shame that children in the Anchorage School District are denied the opportunity to explore and learn lifelong activity skills unless they have a good teacher.  You didn’t get one and I am sorry.

Love,

Mom

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ananchorage.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/dear-kim/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

